The View From The Handbike

$T2eC16FHJHYFFkTtYygUBSPGde!5HQ~~60_35It struck me yesterday, while I was sat in the gym, quite how much I miss football. I was sat, using the handbike, an exercise machine that has become the bane of my life staring into space. Then everything came into focus. As I looked through the glass of the gym, I zoned in on the soccer field. In that moment, it really hit me, for the first time in a long time, quite what the game means to me. That pitch was meant to be the place I spent half of my life while in America. It was meant to be the scene of happy memories, performances, training sessions. In fact, for me, so far, it is just a bad memory. The memory of an injury, in my first real game, that changed my season, my entire experience, my dream. Sure, I have happy memories; I have the games that I watched, the season we won, but It wasn’t the same. It wasn’t playing the game I loved, it wasn’t making saves, being a team player, instead it was an observer, sure a team member, but not a player. For a moment, in that gym I felt hurt, pain, but then I snapped out at it, and now, in reflection, I realize all this feeling is a good thing. It reminds me what soccer means to me. It reminds me that this is my dream. It reminds me that all this is what I have to work towards. In 6 months time, when preseason for the Fall begins, I will be on that field. I will be in the shape of my life. I will be ready to start my dream over, a fresh start, the way I intended it to be all along. I will put on my cleats, and my gloves, and it will all feel right. It will have been worth the wait. I will be recovered, I will be ready, and this whole year won’t have been a waste. It will have in fact been a turning point. It will be the point that told me that I can do anything I put my mind to. The moment that I learnt I have a lot more physical and mental strength and courage that I have ever given myself credit for. It will be the period of time that taught me to never give up if you love something. And boy do I love football. With that feeling, I moved my arms that much faster and continued with my rehab….

Speaking of rehab It’s going a million times better than I thought it would after the initial agony. I am doing what I do best, pushing myself to my limits. After all, until you push to your maximum, you’ll never truly know what it is. As a result of this, my progress has impressed even me. Today I had an appointment with my physiotherapist Brian, who,really does force me to my limit. I love the competitive element he places into sessions. He doesn’t let me ever say no. So today, I managed to get to 90 degrees, complete mini squats, straight leg raises and even peddle the bike, so slow it barely switched on but still. I couldnt be happier. I am we’ll ahead of time and can’t wait to continue pushing myself in my training room treatments with Zubs to ensure there is similar levels of progress each week! I am so fortunate to have such a great support network around me ensuring I make the best recovery possible.  I always attempt to return their investments by putting in all the commitment and effort possible.

Student athlete. Studies. Well they’ve been going crazy lately. It’s been midterm week – how I am half way through I will never know! Exam after exam. Hours of studying. I just hope it pays off. I will find out all my grades after Spring Break, and I’m hoping to at least make all A’s and B’s. In an ideal world, straight A’s of course, but with the amount of time I’ve missed through hospital appointments, surgery etc. I would accept a few B’s, after all I still have a few months to turn all things around. No dwelling on it now, it’s done – but I will say the day when you have a Spanish, Astronomy and Philosophy exam in 24 hours, is a bit mind boggling for sure!

Enough of an update for now. One more week until I get an entire break for a week for Spring Break. That said, my knee will still be working! Hope everyone’s well. Just over 2 months until I’m home for the Summer now. It’ll be one to remember for sure.

Love to you all!

Leave a comment